Skip to Navigation
New Beta Site!

Please view this page on our new HGNC beta site and let us know what you think via the feedback form.

Gene Family: Major cadherins (CDH)

A subset of : Cadherins

Major cadherins: All members of the major cadherin (CDH) gene family encode proteins with an ectodomain comprising at least five consecutive cadherin repeats showing high sequence conservation within the family. The family includes the “classical” type I and type II cadherin genes, encoding proteins with a single transmembrane domain and a cytoplasmic domain containing two conserved motifs for binding to members of the armadillo protein family. Further, the family includes type-III, type-IV and desmosomal cadherins, often encoding longer ectodomains with additional motifs, a single transmembrane domain and a cytoplasmic domain containing at least one conserved motif for armadillo protein binding. Finally, the family includes Flamingo/CELSR genes encoding proteins, which typically have a longer ectodomain, a seven-pass membrane domain and an unrelated cytoplasmic domain compared to other cadherins. These subfamilies are phylogenetically grouped together in one major cadherin branch. [Source: Roy & Hulpiau, Feb 2010]

Family contains the following subsets

Genes contained within the family: 2

Approved Symbol Approved Name Previous Symbols Synonyms Chromosome
CDH13 cadherin 13 CDHH 16q23.3
CDH26 cadherin 26 VR20 20q13.33

Genes contained within subsets


CDH13 and CDH26 are shown alone together as major cadherins since these two genes cannot be grouped into any of the characterised major cadherin subfamilies.

Specialist advisors