Skip to Navigation

Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) for the HUGO Gene Nomenclature Committee is constituted to provide advice and input on science and strategy. Members of the committee initially serve for a two or three year period, and are listed below.

HGNC SAB (2016)

  • Todd Taylor (Chair)
    RIKEN Centre for Integrative Medical Sciences, Yokohama, Japan
  • Helen Firth
    Cambridge University Hospitals Trust, UK
  • Fiona McCarthy 
    University of Arizona, USA
  • Kim Pruitt
    National Center for Biotechnology Information, Bethesda, USA
  • Peter Stadler
    University of Leipzig, Germany
  • Eleftheria Zeggini
    Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, Hinxton, UK


Past Members

  • Jim Reecy (2014-2015)
    Iowa State University, USA
  • Mark McCarthy  (2014-2015)
    Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics, Oxford, UK


The SAB supercedes the HGNC's International Advisory Committee (IAC) which was first set up by invitation in October 1999; more information about the IAC can be found here